Fat Loss Tip #11 – How To Stay Focused / Motivated

How To Stay Focused / Motivated on the Weight Loss Road to Success

Somebody asked me to give them tips on things I do to stay focused & motivated. Read on, this was my biggest tip I gave her that might help you too….

I remember a time in my life where my closet was like a department store. I shopped ALL THE TIME, had a ton of clothes and a wide variety of sizes in my closet. Some to big, some to little but at some point of the year they all fit depending on the season. LOL

Before Paleo my weight fluctuated so much from Summer sizes 16/18 to Winter sizes 20/22 and no that’s not because I would wear layers or sweaters…… 🙂

Funny but it never dawned on me that in order to continue to move forward, I needed to stop expecting to be able to reach back or buy new clothes that where my old familiar winter sizes…….

It never dawned on me that reaching back for my familiar winter clothes and expecting them to fit meant that I would have to GAIN my winter weight back. Talk about being in a comma……..

Once I went Paleo and became committed to it the weight started falling off but I still kept the (fat) clothes in the closet just in case I needed them. (Sometimes its hard to come out of a comma)

I recall one day standing in the closet telling a friend “I have absolutely NOTHING TO WEAR” everything was to big. Even my to little stuff was to big……

I was forced to bag it all up and shop for my current size. (One eye open…. Still not completely out of the comma)

I ended up with 10 bags of clothes in my living room that where too big and a huge EMPTY closet with a couple a pair of leggings and tops to mix/match to hold me over to the next shopping trip.

I decide to challenge myself and be a blessing to someone else. I gave all 10 bags of clothes away (my crutch) and kept an empty bag in my closet for storing potential clothes that would soon be to big.

I turned my expectations from moving/thinking backwards to moving forward. (Finally delivered from the comatose state I was in)

So my point today is you can’t expect to get to the top of the mountain if you keep allowing yourself to have a set back.

Position yourself where you have no choice but to move forward. Right now at this very moment I challenge you to open your closet and take out ALL of your clothes that are too big. Yes ALL of them……yep the cute stuff too and put them in a bag.

Now what you do with that bag is up to you just REMOVE it from your house. If you cleaned out your pantry to eat Paleo then you merely set yourself up for potential weight loss……

Take the next step by setting your expectations on HIGH and clean out your closet and stop shopping for the old familiar or your current sizes. As a matter of fact don’t buy another piece of clothing until you loose 15-20lbs…

When you continue to repeat old patterns you only set yourself up for failure…….

Eating right & exercising to loose weight is just a small piece of the puzzle.
You must realize that this is a BEHAVIORAL challenge and you are trying to correct a lifetime of dysfunctional patterns and bad food choices……….

So Stay Focused, Position Yourself for a Blessing & Believe That You Can Do It. SEE YOU AT THE TOP!

2 thoughts on “Fat Loss Tip #11 – How To Stay Focused / Motivated

  1. Thank you very much for the amazing article, in my case, the support and the love from my family is what keeps me motivated all the time, i have been struggling with losing weight for the past 3 years, but i keep on trying .

    thank you again and mery christmas

    • Always knowing what your “WHY” is will keep you motivated. Most people give up on many things in life because they have not identified their “WHY”.

      Never give up Nabil. YOU CAN DO IT!

Leave a Reply

